Freelance or forget it?

I’ve recently been considering starting my own Freelance PR work, doing a bit of PR for people here and there free of charge to build up my experience, portfolio and contacts whilst also offering a helping hand!  My boyfriend recently started working at a new tattoo shop in the area I live in and I found myself doing PR for them, creating a website and raising awareness of them via social media, and I am actually starting to see results!

I honestly do love PR and the work I have done for the tattoo shop has really got me thinking – would I be able to do a bit of Freelance PR on the side? I know a couple of people with businesses in the area who would benefit from it; but I am not sure how to approach this at all. I work full time at a PR agency at the moment, and I am extremely busy here and dedicated to all my clients. Would I have the time and resources to do freelance? I don’t want to promise people results and then find I don’t psychically have the time it deserves to be put into it.

Has anyone else done this before? And if so, how did you start – and how did you find it?

I’d love to hear peoples opinions on this.

Posted in PR

3 thoughts on “Freelance or forget it?

  1. Freelancing on top of normal hours is so difficult. I work really long hours and then the idea of having freelance clients who need me after sounds very daunting. I do it occasionally for topics I feel strongly about but I’d never charge as they would never get my full attention or the publicity they could get when I was still a student. It fully depends on your time management skills and work load in your job though. All the best with it.

  2. The PR industry is full of people who tend to build up their list of contacts whilst in an agency or in-house role then eventually leave to start up their own business. It is a replicable business which relies on contacts (I try not to talk about ‘relationships’ in Public Relations as it makes me feel sick).

    I did a bit of Freelance PR whilst at University. Such projects really do provide a learning curve but are always hazardous when other commitments at times must take priority. You have hit the nail on the head about promising results – it is a necessity but could be avoided by a large extend by managing client expectations from the very beginning.

    Making the step to go full-time freelance is a gutsy move but is entirely possible. It is how all the small agencies started. If you do then best of luck! Perhaps even get others you know involved? Before you know it you may have started a business.

    As with managing a full-time job and going part-time on the side? Well, I have done that for part of this year but it does mean working at the weekends. I only recommend doing it for a short period of time as things can become stressful really quick.

    1. You mentioned that this is how all small agencies start – this is one of my aims of this idea. I aim to own my own Public Relations firm one day, and the hope is to start building it up slowly now. I want to get as much experience on my CV as I can before I leave University, and in this economy sometimes there is not always vasts amount of opportunities, so sometimes you need to make your own luck.

      This is brilliant advice though Michael, I think I will probably start doing small amounts of Freelance work for people who trust me and know my situation so I do not disappoint in terms of results. Once I have begun to manage my time and work load then I can build it up.

      Thank you for your advice.

Leave a Reply

